Roll your own (kernel RPM) YDL 6.1

All kernel questions! 2.4 or new 2.6 kernel, compiling, modules, panics, etc.

Roll your own (kernel RPM) YDL 6.1

Postby billb » 06 Mar 2009, 21:31

First, let me say that I'm new to kernel building so feedback and corrections are welcome!

Goal:

Build a new kernel RPM for YDL 6.1 with your preferred changes and make it easy to share with the community.

Requirements:

It is assumed that you have installed YDL 6.1 with "Software Development" checked during install.

Steps:

1. Set up your system so you can build RPMs using your regular user account instead of root:

Create the directories needed:
Code: Select all
mkdir ~/rpmbuild

cd rpmbuild

mkdir BUILD  RPMS  SOURCES  SPECS  SRPMS

Create an .rpmmacros file in your home directory which points to the ~/rpmbuild directory you just created:
echo %_topdir $HOME/rpmbuild > ~/.rpmmacros

The contents of ~/.rpmmacros file should look something like this now:
%_topdir /home/bill/rpmbuild

(with your username instead of mine, of course)

2. Move to your ~/rpmbuild/SRPMS directory and download the kernel src.rpm from one of the Fixstars mirrors:

cd ~/rpmbuild/SRPMS

wget http://mirror.anl.gov/yellowdog/releases/yellowdog-6.1/SRPMS/kernel-2.6.27-1.ydl61.4.src.rpm

If that download location doesn't work, look for the file on one of the mirrors listed here:

http://us.fixstars.com/support/downloads/
(releases/yellowdog-6.1/SRPMSkernel-2.6.27-1.ydl61.4.src.rpm

3. Install the kernel src.rpm and take a look around at what got installed in your SOURCES and SPECS folders.

rpm -ivh kernel-2.6.27-1.ydl61.4.src.rpm

Your SOURCES folder should now contain everything used to build the YDL 6.1 kernel including the original kernel source archive, patches, Fixstars & YDL logos, kernel .config files for different architectures, and "COPYING.modules" (which appears to be some sort of debate?)

ls ~/rpmbuild/SOURCES/

COPYING.modules                     linux-2.6-ps3-ehci-iso.patch