Mednafen and The Sixaxis Controller

Any problems with the Xserver, Configs or Sound.

Mednafen and The Sixaxis Controller

Postby ace » 29 Apr 2009, 17:25

Hello all. I am a noob to Linux though I feel I have learned quite a bit in the last week through the forums here and elsewhere. My only reasons for doing the whole setup of Yellow Dog Linux 6.1 was to throw it on my PS3 and use my Sixaxis controllers for playing Nintendo (NES), Super Nintendo (SNES), and Nintendo 64 (N64) games and then to some extent Genesis would be nice too. I think N64 is out of the question for now, correct? I have SNES working perfectly with SNES9x GTk 1.51 right now with the two Sixaxis controllers. That was fairly easy. I would be just tickled pink though if someone could tell me if there really is any good way to setup the Sixaxis Controllers for NES. Right now I am using Mednafen for my emulator. I have picture and the frame rates are fine. I have sound (works great) but then I hit (Ctrl+Shift+1) or (Ctrl+Shift+2) for my controllers. When I get the thing going I keep getting the (2),(3),(4), etc when it senses different pressure from my input and thus messes up when I am playing games. I have been through the forums and just can't get anything to work. I have actually found that using the joystick on the PS3 can work well with the up,down, left,right (and that would be fine with me) but man with the A,B,RapidA,RapidB I just can't get them to work decent. I have tried other people's config file changes too. A few have worked better than others. For example, I put in a config file that some guy on here said worked perfectly for his, but I went in to play Tecmo Bowl and when I would do a pass play, the A or RapidA (not sure which) was just constantly going so it would be going through the wide receivers at a crazy rate but I couldn't stop them to pass the ball to any of them. Are these people having this problem or I am I just doing something wrong? Should I give up hope? If I plug in th