Apache on PS2 Linux

Just want to have a nice chat with your beer? Go ahead ;-)

Apache on PS2 Linux

Postby Taellik » 23 Jul 2010, 12:34

Those who are using the PS2 flavor of linux :

Anyone been able to get the Apache web server to run?

I did the "install all" option and I verified the default "It Worked! page was created in my /home/httpd/html/ directory.

Problem I run into is that when I try to display it as http:/localhost or http:/127.0.0.1 I get error message of cannot connect.

Any thought / hints / suggestions, etc.

Taellik

R.I.P.
Playstation 3 / Yellow Dog Linux
PS3 80GB, FW 3.21
EyeToy II
NO YDL 6.2 due to 3.21 firmware upgrade
PSP
PSP Go! Cam
User avatar
Taellik
ydl addict
ydl addict
 
Posts: 195
Joined: 29 Dec 2008, 12:41
Location: Raleigh NC and God's Favorite Nation --> THE United States of America

Re: Apache on PS2 Linux

Postby ppietro » 23 Jul 2010, 19:20

Taellik wrote:Those who are using the PS2 flavor of linux :

Anyone been able to get the Apache web server to run?

I did the "install all" option and I verified the default "It Worked! page was created in my /home/httpd/html/ directory.

Problem I run into is that when I try to display it as http:/localhost or http:/127.0.0.1 I get error message of cannot connect.

Any thought / hints / suggestions, etc.


Go here:

http://www.weasel-bot.com

So - it does work. :P You might have to check the permissions on the files and directories. They need to be set to allow all to read, I think. Other than that, you might have to check httpd.conf and see how it's set.

Cheers,
Paul
User avatar
ppietro
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4965
Joined: 13 Sep 2007, 22:18

Re: Apache on PS2 Linux

Postby Taellik » 23 Jul 2010, 22:50

Hiya Paul,

File permissions are ok.

When I use the "top" command from a terminal session, I don't see the httpd process running.

According to my apache config file, httpd is located at etc/httpd

When I do a search to try to find the executable in my etc/httpd directory to try to manually start it with the "httpd start" command, the execuable is no where to be found.


Taellik

R.I.P.
Playstation 3 / Yellow Dog Linux
PS3 80GB, FW 3.21
EyeToy II
NO YDL 6.2 due to 3.21 firmware upgrade
PSP
PSP Go! Cam
User avatar
Taellik
ydl addict
ydl addict
 
Posts: 195
Joined: 29 Dec 2008, 12:41
Location: Raleigh NC and God's Favorite Nation --> THE United States of America

Re: Apache on PS2 Linux

Postby ppietro » 23 Jul 2010, 23:51

Taellik wrote:Hiya Paul,

File permissions are ok.

When I use the "top" command from a terminal session, I don't see the httpd process running.

According to my apache config file, httpd is located at etc/httpd

When I do a search to try to find the executable in my etc/httpd directory to try to manually start it with the "httpd start" command, the execuable is no where to be found.


Try this:

1. Login as root (or use su -l)
2. chkconfig httpd on
3. chkconfig --list httpd

Step 3 should print out something like this:
Code: Select all
[root@localhost /root]# chkconfig --list httpd
httpd           0:off   1:off   2:off   3:on    4:on    5:on    6:off


4. service httpd start

If this doesn't work, you may need to create a script in /etc/rc.d/init.d. Just in case it's not there, here's mine:

/etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd

Code: Select all
#!/bin/bash
#
# Startup script for the Apache Web Server
#
# chkconfig: - 85 15
# description: Apache is a World Wide Web server.  It is used to serve \
#              HTML files and CGI.
# processname: httpd
# pidfile: /var/run/httpd.pid
# config: /etc/httpd/conf/access.conf
# config: /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf
# config: /etc/httpd/conf/srm.conf

# Source function library.
. /etc/rc.d/init.d/functions

# Source additional OPTIONS if we have them.
if [ -f /etc/sysconfig/apache ] ; then
        . /etc/sysconfig/apache
fi

# Path to the httpd binary.
httpd=/usr/sbin/httpd
prog=httpd
RETVAL=0

# Change the major functions into functions.
moduleargs() {
        moduledir=/usr/lib/apache
        moduleargs=`
        /usr/bin/find ${moduledir} -type f -perm -0100 -name "*.so" | awk '{\
                gsub(".*/","");\
                gsub("^mod_","");\
                gsub("^lib","");\
                gsub("\.so$","");\
                print "-DHAVE_" toupper($0)}'`
        echo ${moduleargs}
}
start() {
        echo -n "Starting $prog: "
        daemon $httpd `moduleargs` $OPTIONS
        RETVAL=$?
        echo
        [ $RETVAL = 0 ] && touch /var/lock/subsys/httpd
        return $RETVAL
}
stop() {
        echo -n "Stopping $prog: "
        killproc $httpd
        RETVAL=$?
        echo
        [ $RETVAL = 0 ] && rm -f /var/lock/subsys/httpd /var/run/httpd.pid
}

# See how we were called.
case "$1" in
  start)
        start
        ;;
  stop)
        stop
        ;;
  status)
        status $httpd
        ;;
  restart)
        stop
        start
        ;;
  reload)
        echo -n "Reloading $prog: "
        killproc $httpd -HUP
        RETVAL=$?
        echo
        ;;
  condrestart)
        if [ -f /var/run/httpd.pid ] ; then
                stop
                start
        fi
        ;;
  *)
        echo "Usage: $prog {start|stop|restart|reload|condrestart|status}"
        exit 1
esac

exit $RETVAL


Cheers,
Paul
User avatar
ppietro
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4965
Joined: 13 Sep 2007, 22:18

Re: Apache on PS2 Linux

Postby Taellik » 26 Jul 2010, 12:50

Hiya Paul,

Gave your suggestion a try - still no love.

Oh well...

Taellik

R.I.P.
Playstation 3 / Yellow Dog Linux
PS3 80GB, FW 3.21
EyeToy II
NO YDL 6.2 due to 3.21 firmware upgrade
PSP
PSP Go! Cam
User avatar
Taellik
ydl addict
ydl addict
 
Posts: 195
Joined: 29 Dec 2008, 12:41
Location: Raleigh NC and God's Favorite Nation --> THE United States of America

Re: Apache on PS2 Linux

Postby ppietro » 26 Jul 2010, 18:49

Taellik wrote:Gave your suggestion a try - still no love.


Did the service start? If it's running, you should see something like this if you try the ps-ef|grep http command:

Code: Select all
[ppietro@localhost ppietro]$ ps -ef|grep http
root     20546     1  0 Jul19 ?        00:00:00 /usr/sbin/httpd -DHAVE_PROXY -DH
nobody   21814 20546  0 Jul25 ?        00:00:00 /usr/sbin/httpd -DHAVE_PROXY -DH
nobody   21815 20546  0 Jul25 ?        00:00:00 /usr/sbin/httpd -DHAVE_PROXY -DH
nobody   21816 20546  0 Jul25 ?        00:00:00 /usr/sbin/httpd -DHAVE_PROXY -DH
nobody   21817 20546  0 Jul25 ?        00:00:00 /usr/sbin/httpd -DHAVE_PROXY -DH
nobody   21818 20546  0 Jul25 ?        00:00:00 /usr/sbin/httpd -DHAVE_PROXY -DH
nobody   21819 20546  0 Jul25 ?        00:00:00 /usr/sbin/httpd -DHAVE_PROXY -DH
nobody   21820 20546  0 Jul25 ?        00:00:00 /usr/sbin/httpd -DHAVE_PROXY -DH
nobody   21821 20546  0 Jul25 ?        00:00:00 /usr/sbin/httpd -DHAVE_PROXY -DH
ppietro  22389 22362  0 10:34 pts/0    00:00:00 grep http
[ppietro@localhost ppietro]


If a ps shows something like this, then it's definitely a configuration issue. If it doesn't, Apache might not be correctly installed.

Cheers,
Paul
User avatar
ppietro
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4965
Joined: 13 Sep 2007, 22:18

Re: Apache on PS2 Linux

Postby Taellik » 28 Jul 2010, 12:04

Hiya Paul,

No, the httpd service did not start up.

Taellik

R.I.P.

Playstation 3 / Yellow Dog Linux
PS3 80GB, FW 3.21
EyeToy II
NO YDL 6.2 due to 3.21 firmware upgrade
PSP
PSP Go! Cam
User avatar
Taellik
ydl addict
ydl addict
 
Posts: 195
Joined: 29 Dec 2008, 12:41
Location: Raleigh NC and God's Favorite Nation --> THE United States of America


Return to Speaker's Corner

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests