7 years of Linux on Playstation-foo hardware.

system irrelevant topics

7 years of Linux on Playstation-foo hardware.

Postby CronoCloud » 02 Jun 2009, 08:21

Paul knows this, since he did it too, but I've been running Linux on Playstation hardware since May 29th of 2002. Yep, I'm one of those people who have the PS2 Linux kit, and until the middle of last year, just a short time after installing YDL on my PS3, it was fully functional. No, you can't have my RTE disc, it's a collectors item. I learned a lot via Linux (for Playstation 2), it was my first exposure to Linux, just like YDL on the PS3 is some users first exposure to Linux. I pretty much use the same software setup, if I ran it on the PS2, I've probably run it on the PS3. A few notes:

PS2 LInux and YDL are Red Hat based distros which made the switchover very smooth.

regex on PS2 Linux and YDL acts POSIX, even though it's a GNU regex. Don't know why, since I know very little about regex, but it tripped me up on both machines when I installed a menucolors patched nethack. Had to use the POSIX version of the menucolors settings.

I hate the default RH DIRCOLORs in the terminal, only found out how to change them a few years after owning the PS2 LInux kit, I used the same change on YDL.

I also replace that awful awful Darkblue with Dodgerblue in my .Xdefaults.

YDL telnet does NOT use 8 bit mode by default, unlike telnet on PS2 Linux, so if you connect to nethack.alt.org, your alt-keys won't work to replace the # commands. You fix that by adding -8 to your telnet command.

I'm lazy and still haven't got around to installing a newer version of the Gimp. I actually use the Gimp quite a bit and prefer the newer UI in the 2.4+ versions that I actually installed on the PS2, but as I said, I'm lazy.

I never was able to get a version of Abiword more recent that 2.2.foo running on the PS2, which was a shame. Oh, they'd compile just fine, but quit with no error messages at startup.