Folding on yellow dog?

YDL running on the Sony Playstation 3

Moderator: billb

Folding on yellow dog?

Postby Robokev » 31 Dec 2006, 20:37

Hi,
Please keep in mind while reading this that I am a Linux noob. I just installed YDL 5 on my PS3 and I was wondering if it is possible to run folding at home? I've tried a couple guides on getting it set up but they don't seem to work. (these had me download the single core and also 64 bit dual core versions.) Does anybody have an idea how to get this running? Any help appreciated.
Robokev
ydl newbie
ydl newbie

Postby thedevilsjester » 31 Dec 2006, 21:15

Is "folding at home" a Linux application? If not, no you cannot run it.

If so, and there is source code available, it should be a matter of compiling the source code.

If you provide a link to the page where this software is contained I will look into it as much as I can on an x86 distro.
thedevilsjester
ydl beginner
ydl beginner

Postby Robokev » 31 Dec 2006, 22:07

They have Linux and windows versions. here is a link to the smp version of it. I think that is the one needed. I tried this one and also the single core one.
http://www.stanford.edu/%7Ekasson/folding/FAH_SMP_Linux.tgz
Thanks for you help!
Robokev
ydl newbie
ydl newbie

Postby thedevilsjester » 31 Dec 2006, 23:28

I cannot find any information on that site about the packages distributed.

The package you linked to is precompiled and as far as I can tell, is precompiled for x86_64 not PPC64. As such would only run on Intel compatible hardware (Intel, AMD, etc...) not PowerPC hardware (PPC, PPC64, etc...)

If the above is not the case (you know for certain that its a PPC64 compile), please link me, not to the package which I have no way of testing, but to the site that links to this package and has more information on it.
thedevilsjester
ydl beginner
ydl beginner

Postby Robokev » 01 Jan 2007, 03:51