System Backup?

YDL running on the Sony Playstation 3

Moderator: billb

System Backup?

Postby hcubed » 30 Nov 2010, 10:12

I've searched and read about backing up my home directory using tar, but I'm concerned about backing up more than that. Packages that I have working now may or may not be available in the future, so I want to be able to have a backup of my system, not just my home directory. Is there a way to

1) identify and backup the packages I have installed now, then at a later date (presumably after a fresh re-install) install those packages from the hard disk drive?
2) backup my entire system, config files, repository settings, everything?

Option 1 seems most practical and would probably be adequate for the peace of mind I'm looking for. I know how to do this in Ubuntu Linux, but I'm a beginner with YDL.

HCubed
hcubed
ydl newbie
ydl newbie

Re: System Backup?

Postby ppietro » 30 Nov 2010, 21:39

hcubed wrote:Is there a way to

1) identify and backup the packages I have installed now, then at a later date (presumably after a fresh re-install) install those packages from the hard disk drive?

Well - if you want a list of all the RPMs installed on your system:

rpm -qa

from a terminal window will print 'em all. If you had a copy of all of these RPMs on some storage media, then you could be assured of restoring your system. YUM uses RPMs to install - YUM is an automated RPM manager.

Most of these RPMs would be on your YDL install DVD. Any RPM installed by YUM might be located at /var/cache/yum/ - although they don't stay there very long. Otherwise, you'd have to navigate to the YUM repositories, and manually download the RPMs from there.

Also - bear in mind that RPMs, due to their interdependencies, sometimes must be installed in a certain order. But - that list of RPMs would be all that you have installed on your system, and if you had local copies, you could restore it based on that list.