How Can I Use Linux on PS3?

YDL running on the Sony Playstation 3

Moderator: billb

How Can I Use Linux on PS3?

Postby hcubed » 28 Dec 2010, 02:43

I'll try to be concise, but I may not be successful. I have a phat PS3 60 GB that I have not updated past 3.15. It has YDL 6.2 installed (first thing I did after getting it).

What Sony has done (and is doing) with regard to removing OtherOS and other features (can't use Netflix, etc.) is super irritating to me.

My question is, is there anything remotely useful or novel I can do with this unit if I'm not a developer? I never planned on learning to develop for the Cell architecture, but admit I was intrigued that I could run Linux on my "does everything" game console. I'm also not a gamer (have a few PS2 games I occasionally play on it) and never even really knew what "homebrew" means. I have a few other computers, all of which run circles around Linux on PS3 as an ordinary desktop computer. Is there any reason not to upgrade firmware at this point? I don't want to, if only because of principle, but after a while, as feature after feature drops off, the argument to keep running a yellow dog-slow installation of Linux becomes harder to justify GIVEN that I'm not a developer.

I'm intrigued with PS3 clusters and would love to tinker around with that (if I knew what to do) even though I only have one. I guess I just want someone to give me a reason to not upgrade firmware... any reason. The novelty of the desktop function is waning.
hcubed
ydl newbie
ydl newbie

Re: How Can I Use Linux on PS3?

Postby ppietro » 28 Dec 2010, 05:58

hcubed wrote:I guess I just want someone to give me a reason to not upgrade firmware... any reason.

As far as I'm concerned - you had the perfect reason earlier in your message:

hcubed wrote:What Sony has done (and is doing) with regard to removing OtherOS and other features (can't use Netflix, etc.) is super irritating to me.