Upgrade Java SOLVED

YDL running on the Sony Playstation 3

Moderator: billb

Upgrade Java SOLVED

Postby ps3cluster » 02 Apr 2011, 13:22

Hi how do i upgrade java on my cluster?
It seems yellow dog linux has only support for the 1.4.2 java jdk but for hadoop i need an current version running on it.
When i tried to build one the system tells me it´s not possible.
I need java in order to run hadoop on top of it.
Right now i have got two ubuntu boxes an x86 and an ppc mac runnnig hadoop and wan´t to add my ps3 ´s to the hadoop install.

When i trie yum install hadoop-0.20
The system pust out this:


Code: Select all
[root@localhost ~]# yum install hadoop-0.20
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up Install Process
Parsing package install arguments
cloudera-cdh3             100% |=========================|  951 B    00:00     
base                      100% |=========================| 1.1 kB    00:00     
updates                   100% |=========================|  951 B    00:00     
extras                    100% |=========================|  951 B    00:00     
Resolving Dependencies
--> Running transaction check
---> Package hadoop-0.20.noarch 0:0.20.2+887-1 set to be updated
--> Processing Dependency: jdk >= 1.6 for package: hadoop-0.20
--> Finished Dependency Resolution
Error: Missing Dependency: jdk >= 1.6 is needed by package hadoop-0.20


Right now i have got two ubuntu boxes an x86 and an ppc mac runnnig hadoop and wan´t to add my ps3 ´s to the hadoop install.
Last edited by ps3cluster on 03 Apr 2011, 13:24, edited 1 time in total.
ps3cluster
ydl newbie
ydl newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 09 Oct 2010, 16:35

Re: Upgrade Java

Postby ppietro » 03 Apr 2011, 12:06

ps3cluster wrote:Hi how do i upgrade java on my cluster?
It seems yellow dog linux has only support for the 1.4.2 java jdk but for hadoop i need an current version running on it.
When i tried to build one the system tells me it´s not possible.
I need java in order to run hadoop on top of it.
Right now i have got two ubuntu boxes an x86 and an ppc mac runnnig hadoop and wan´t to add my ps3 ´s to the hadoop install.


By default, YDL ships with GNU Java. As you've seen, it's not updated and not very compliant. We normally would tell you to run Sun/Oracle Java, but it's not available for the PowerPC processor.

However - IBM licensed Java from Sun/Oracle, compiled a version, and it works well.

We have a quick HOWTO guide on installing it here:
How to install Java plugin for Firefox (YDL 6.0)

You can find that - and other useful PS3 software items here:
Please READ ME FIRST (known issues, useful links, and help)

By the way - I wouldn't uninstall the default GNU Java either. Instead create a symbolic link for java in the IBM install directory to your /usr/local/bin directory. The command will look something like this:
Code: Select all
ln -s /opt/ibm/java-ppc-60/jre/bin/java /usr/local/bin

This will make the IBM Java the default without uninstalling the other libraries.

I don't have much experience with clustering - hopefully this will solve the problem you've described and let you run the clustering software.

Also - in regards to the YUM excerpt you posted: Installing IBM's Java may not pass the version check using YUM - you may have to manually install the software using the RPM command and the --force parameter.

Cheers,
Paul
User avatar
ppietro
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4965
Joined: 13 Sep 2007, 22:18

Re: Upgrade Java SOLVED

Postby ps3cluster » 03 Apr 2011, 13:24

Thanks!
ps3cluster
ydl newbie
ydl newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 09 Oct 2010, 16:35

Re: Upgrade Java SOLVED

Postby toompaxy » 02 Feb 2012, 08:37

How does Java take in values from person? I know that C++ takes in values from a person typing on a keyboard with cin for numerical data and getline(cin, variable) for strings, but how does Java take in values? I mean, what is Java's equivalent of cin, and how do I put that value into a variable? Thanks!
toompaxy
ydl newbie
ydl newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 01 Feb 2012, 08:48

Re: Upgrade Java SOLVED

Postby ppietro » 06 Feb 2012, 10:12

toompaxy wrote:How does Java take in values from person? I know that C++ takes in values from a person typing on a keyboard with cin for numerical data and getline(cin, variable) for strings, but how does Java take in values? I mean, what is Java's equivalent of cin, and how do I put that value into a variable? Thanks!


Funny - this exact question is posted here, with the answer:
http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index ... 903AAh0M74

and here:
http://www.questionyes.com/question/332 ... rom-person

Cheers,
Paul
User avatar
ppietro
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4965
Joined: 13 Sep 2007, 22:18


Return to Playstation 3

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests

cron