Should I Stay or Should I Go (YDL)?

YDL running on the Sony Playstation 3

Moderator: billb

Should I Stay or Should I Go (YDL)?

Postby hcubed » 02 Oct 2011, 09:24

I hate to ask this, especially here, but I think the group here will be able to give me a balanced, realistic answer.

I have a PS3 60GB on 3.15 still. I have YDL installed. Sony pissed me off. I didn't buy it to play PS3 games on. I use it for media streaming and bluray playing. Now many new blurays won't play (if they're put out by Sony!) since I don't have the upgrade. To be honest, I haven't booted into YDL in forever. It's really never been useful to me. I'm not a developer. I thought it was cool that I could install Linux, but I have a couple desktops, a notebook, and a tablet now that are more powerful than anything I'll ever get out of the PS3 using YDL (not developing my own supercomputer, cluster software of course).

So, it's beginning to seem kind of like the end of the road... like I'm really not hurting anyone except myself by holding out from upgrading any longer. It was fun. It was cool, but it's not practical for me to do anything with.

Am I missing something or can someone affirm my thoughts?
hcubed
ydl newbie
ydl newbie

Re: Should I Stay or Should I Go (YDL)?

Postby billb » 02 Oct 2011, 18:09

The GameOS side of the PS3 far exceeds the capabilities of YDL/OtherOS in terms of media streaming and bluray playback, so it sounds like updating to the latest FW would be the best option for you. Either that or try selling your PS3 on eBay, noting that it retains the 3.15 FW and Linux/OtherOS capability.

Of course there are far better blu-ray players / media streaming devices than the PS3 available at a lower price (like this, for example). :wink:
PS3 60GB [CECHA01], FW 3.15, YDL 6.2, Samsung T260HD @ 1920x1200
Powermac G4 1.25 GHz x2, 2 GB RAM, YDL 6.2
billb
Site Admin
Site Admin

Postby ppietro » 02 Oct 2011, 19:01

As for my opinion on this issue, I bought a 360. :D

or