Permission to edit kboot.conf

If you have problems installing YDL, or need some information before you start.

Permission to edit kboot.conf

Postby panteraboy1988 » 15 Sep 2008, 04:30

Im new to thisYDL thing and i've been trying to get my wi-fi to work all day. i had to download some kind of kernel patch, i did that. i installed it and everything. then i read that before i reboot i have to edit the kboot.conf file to where it uses the new kernel and not the old one. i edited the file and everything but i cant save it because it says i dont have permission. what is going on??? i even tried some stuff that i read about where you use the terminal and use your root password and it still says i dont have permission to that file. can anyone walk me through this plz?? all i need to do now is save that dang file and reboot but i need someone to show me how cause obviously im doing something wrong. this is the first time ive even touched linux so i have NO IDEA how it works.
panteraboy1988
ydl newbie
ydl newbie

Re: Permission to edit kboot.conf

Postby ppietro » 15 Sep 2008, 18:30

panteraboy1988 wrote:Im new to thisYDL thing and i've been trying to get my wi-fi to work all day. i had to download some kind of kernel patch, i did that. i installed it and everything. then i read that before i reboot i have to edit the kboot.conf file to where it uses the new kernel and not the old one. i edited the file and everything but i cant save it because it says i dont have permission. what is going on??? i even tried some stuff that i read about where you use the terminal and use your root password and it still says i dont have permission to that file. can anyone walk me through this plz?? all i need to do now is save that dang file and reboot but i need someone to show me how cause obviously im doing something wrong. this is the first time ive even touched linux so i have NO IDEA how it works.