Help with Installing QEMU

If you have problems installing YDL, or need some information before you start.

Help with Installing QEMU

Postby MDoane » 09 Mar 2009, 11:14

I have read so many places that installing QEMU (any version) running YDL 6.1 on my PS3 should be easy. Granted, I am a newb, but I can't figure out any way to make this happen. My goal is to be able to install Windows XP and run that off the x86 of QEMU. I've been to bellard.org/qemu/ and followed all of the instructions, but when it asks me to type in ./config, this happened.

[i@localhost tmp]$ cd qemu-0.10.0
[i@localhost qemu-0.10.0]$ ./configure
ERROR: "gcc" either does not exist or does not work
[i@localhost qemu-0.10.0]$ make
Makefile:3: config-host.mak: No such file or directory
Makefile:4: /rules.mak: No such file or directory
make: *** No rule to make target `/rules.mak'. Stop.
[i@localhost qemu-0.10.0]$

Could someone tell me what I'm missing. Does the file have to be an rpm instead of a tar because my PS3 is a PPC? If That is the case, I have a QEMU 0.9.0 ppc zip from http://www.h7.dion.ne.jp/~qemu-win/. But, I have no idea what commands to enter into the terminal to install any of this stuff. Help me, please.

I'm stuck! : )

Thanks
MDoane
ydl newbie
ydl newbie

Re: Help with Installing QEMU

Postby ppietro » 09 Mar 2009, 19:14

It's tricky to build QEMU from source. There are some errors in the source code that must be manually patched.

Instead - why don't you use YDL's automated installing service?

If you set up the extra repositories as listed here:
viewtopic.php?f=19&t=3017

Then you would use YDL's built-in Add/Remove Software utility to add QEMU.

Also - just FYI - you're going to have trouble building anything from source. You're apparently missing the Software Development tools - they probably didn't get installed during setup.

As root user, use this command line in a terminal window to easily install the development tools:
yum groupinstall 'Development Tools'