Installing Linux over PS3 Op/Sys

If you have problems installing YDL, or need some information before you start.

Installing Linux over PS3 Op/Sys

Postby Spyhunter » 30 Jun 2009, 10:32

I am new to Linux and want to install it on my PS3 so I can then run MAME and other emulators.

I have a few 'newbie' questions before doing this if anyone could possibly help...

1) When formatting rhw PS3 ready for Linux Op/Sys, will this delete my installed GAMES on my PS3? If so, is there any way to back up these games and place back on.
2) Can I still use the normal PS3 Menus after installing - so I can use my PS3 as normal for playing PS3 games, watching vids, listening to music (from USB HDD) - The PS3 is currently my Media Centre just need Emulators now for a complete unit. (aka Linux)
3) Will this invalid the warranty and if I want to change my mind at a later date, can I remove Linux and run the PS3 as normal?
4) Does the PS3 still require (more importantly; can it still obtain) the latest PS3 firmware updates?
5) Can I still use the wireless PS3 controllers in Linux on emulators (eg: Mame, WinUAE)
6.) As question 5 above, can I also use my PS3 controller as mouse (and is there an onscreen keyboard)

Many thanks
Spyhunter
ydl lover
ydl lover

Re: Installing Linux over PS3 Op/Sys

Postby ppietro » 30 Jun 2009, 21:33

Spyhunter wrote:I have a few 'newbie' questions before doing this if anyone could possibly help...

Sure - here goes! :D

1) When formatting rhw PS3 ready for Linux Op/Sys, will this delete my installed GAMES on my PS3?

Yes

If so, is there any way to back up these games and place back on.

Yes. You can do this from the PS3's GameOS, using an external USB hard disk, formatted FAT32. You would backup, reformat/repartition, then restore.

2) Can I still use the normal PS3 Menus after installing - so I can use my PS3 as normal for playing PS3 games, watching vids, listening to music (from USB HDD)