How do i edit the files for switch to graphical mode?

If you have problems installing YDL, or need some information before you start.

How do i edit the files for switch to graphical mode?

Postby Janks01 » 05 Oct 2009, 01:14

I already have the steps which i pulled form another site but im just a bit confused...what do i type exaclty at the bold parts. Sorry but i have never done anything like this before so please try to be as simplistic as you can. thanks.


Howto: Graphical mode on SDTV

Postby billb on Sun Jul 20, 2008 9:04 am
Terrasoft has a HOWTO for this here:
http://www.terrasoftsolutions.com/suppo ... to-5.shtml

But it leaves out some steps new Linux users will need and includes a step that most likely isn't necessary. Here's a modified version:

1. At the "localhost login" prompt, enter "root". Press [ENTER]

2. Enter the root password (this was set during installation) and press [ENTER]

3. Type Xautoconfig and press [ENTER]. It will create the file /etc/X11/xorg.conf and set it up with the parameters necessary to run a graphical system.

4. Edit the file /etc/inittab.

Code: Select all
nano -w /etc/inittab



Look for the line that reads:

id:3:initdefault:

... and change it to:

id:5:initdefault:

To save your changes in the nano text editor, use Ctrl-O, then Ctrl-X to exit.

5. The text mode installer does not create a regular user account -- just "root" -- and it is not good practice to log in as the root user. So use this command to create a regular user account now:

Code: Select all
useradd yourusername


(replace "yourusername" with your desired login name)

Create a password for the account:

Code: Select all
passwd yourusername


(replace "yourusername" with the one you used)

That's it -- you're done!

Code: Select all
reboot



When you get to the login screen, enter your username and password entered in Step 5 above.
Janks01
ydl newbie
ydl newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 04 Oct 2009, 00:38

Re: How do i edit the files for switch to graphical mode?

Postby billb » 05 Oct 2009, 01:28

Janks01 wrote:what do i type exaclty at the bold parts. Sorry but i have never done anything like this before so please try to be as simplistic as you can. thanks.


Err... that was me trying to be as simplistic as I could already. :P

In the original post:
http://pleasantfiction.ipower.com/bodeg ... p?f=5&t=19

You type (or copy/paste) exactly what is shown in the CODE: section. As it appears in the bold section of your post above, you'd leave off the "Code: Select all" part and just type the command nano -w /etc/inittab as described in Step 4.

If you run into trouble just let us know. :)
PS3 60GB [CECHA01], FW 3.15, YDL 6.2, Samsung T260HD @ 1920x1200
Powermac G4 1.25 GHz x2, 2 GB RAM, YDL 6.2
User avatar
billb
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5522
Joined: 24 May 2007, 20:30
Location: Eastern NC, USA

Re: How do i edit the files for switch to graphical mode?

Postby Janks01 » 05 Oct 2009, 03:04

ok got it now, finally finished with this install
Janks01
ydl newbie
ydl newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 04 Oct 2009, 00:38


Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 53 guests

cron