Booting Live/Install CD on worse-for-wear PowerBook G4

If you have problems installing YDL, or need some information before you start.

Booting Live/Install CD on worse-for-wear PowerBook G4

Postby psychicv » 08 Aug 2010, 18:49

Hi! While my question isn't directly related to Yellow Dog, I thought I'd ask here anyway as it's the most popular PPC Linux distro and there is no doubt a lot of know-how about Macs here. :)

My situation is this: I'm a long time Linux user on PC architectures. I'm also a long time Mac OS X user. However, I've never tried my hand at Linux on the Mac before. So, for a challenge/learning experience, I thought I'd try my hand at LFS (Linux From Scratch) on my PowerBook. Having some early issues however. As the subject line would suggest, my Mac is not in mint condition. The DVD drive doesn't work any more. Also, I can't get it to boot to the Open Firmware console for some reason. The machine is fine otherwise, and runs Leopard beautifully. I have a blank partition at the end of the disk which I am saving for Linuxy goodness!

I tried connecting a DVD writer to a Firewire enclosure to boot that way. Holding down Option made it pop up next to my Mac OS X installation, but clicking it did nothing but flash the screen. The disk was burned in Linux on the same burner, like so:
Code: Select all
wodim -v dev=/dev/sr0 lfslivecd.iso

To install Leopard, I had to dd the installation disk to an old IDE hard drive which I connected up to the same Firewire drive enclosure. Slow process as that drive is quite broken, but it worked in the end. Would this method work for a Linux installer or live disk?