Media Player on YDL 6.0

If you are new to YDL and have some more or less basic questions.

Media Player on YDL 6.0

Postby RuthyWelch » 18 Dec 2008, 23:42

Hey all,

I'm still pretty new to linux. Adding it to my PS3 is my first experience with it. It's pretty cool. I'm glad it's approved as a legit OS for PS3 too! I'm hoping to perfect my PS3 as my home entertainment unit with linux. Anyway, I'm going to be putting 6.0 on my PS3 soon and was wondering about linux's media players. I have a lot of videos and tunes that I used to run on my iTunes. They are non-DRM so that is not my issue, but they all have artwork, will I need to pull up that artwork again? Or if I import those songs into ryhmbox will they still have the artwork? Also, I like the video players the come with YDL but are there any linux video players that follow a media library style like iTunes? I'd really like video player that compiles all my videos with artwork and I can make playlists etc. Can VLC do that? Is VLC supported on YDL? That's something else I'm curious about, I see a lot of neat linux programs that are available for specific linusOS's none of them offer YDL that I can see. Does YDL follow compatibility with fedora since 6.0 is based on that? How do I know what programs I can run on YDL? Trail and error?

Soory for throwing out all these questions, I'm just having a hard time tracking them down and I'm hesitant to do trail and error in risk or corrupting something. Please only answer the questions you feel like answering, I don't want to annoy anyone here.
RuthyWelch
ydl newbie
ydl newbie

Re: Media Player on YDL 6.0

Postby billb » 19 Dec 2008, 08:29

RuthyWelch wrote:They are non-DRM so that is not my issue, but they all have artwork, will I need to pull up that artwork again? Or if I import those songs into ryhmbox will they still have the artwork?

Sorry, but I'm not too familiar with artwork associated with song files... you might want to check the Rythmbox wiki here: