Swap file

If you are new to YDL and have some more or less basic questions.

Swap file

Postby zygo » 20 Jan 2009, 10:28

Hi all, I want to say first that this site has been very helpfull in getting my ps3 up and running ydl 6.1. And would like to give a big WOOT and thankyou. :D

O.K. I'm having an issue though. I would like to add a swap file to an external drive; say to a usb thumb drive . But I can not find anywhere on how to do this. I did find a Howto but it was for 5.0. I'm a noob when it comes to terminal commands, so any help would be appreciated.
zygo
ydl newbie
ydl newbie

Re: Swap file

Postby ppietro » 20 Jan 2009, 10:42

zygo wrote:Hi all, I want to say first that this site has been very helpfull in getting my ps3 up and running ydl 6.1. And would like to give a big WOOT and thankyou. :D

O.K. I'm having an issue though. I would like to add a swap file to an external drive; say to a usb thumb drive . But I can not find anywhere on how to do this. I did find a Howto but it was for 5.0. I'm a noob when it comes to terminal commands, so any help would be appreciated.

Since you're using 6.1, I'd use the new ps3vram feature for swap instead of a USB thumb drive. It's much faster - and you can leave your hard disc swap partition active at the same time. The fast ps3vram swap will get used first, since it has a higher priority.

There's good instructions on how to set it up here:

http://us.fixstars.com/support/solution ... swap.shtml

Cheers,
Paul
ppietro
Site Admin
Site Admin

Postby icebreakingfool » 28 May 2009, 01:02

I've been trying to enable the ps3vram as swap. As I understand this will utilize the 256mb of ram associated with the graphics card and allow YDL to use it as a very fast swap space, effectively increasing my ram to 512mb. However I run into problems following the instructions on fixstars site. Any help would be appreciated. I'm currently running YDL 6.1.

Code: Select all
[root@localhost ~]# cd /etc/init.d