Unable to Scale 1080p screen (YDL 6.1 black border/overscan)

If you are new to YDL and have some more or less basic questions.

Unable to Scale 1080p screen (YDL 6.1 black border/overscan)

Postby ikledude » 21 Jul 2009, 00:09

Hi,

I am a Noob to Linux (well a love/hate relationship) however I have a good understanding.

I am extremely impressed with YDL 6.1

I have 3 remaining issues/quirks/features/bugs that are on my list to resolve within my installation.
1. Black border/Overscan issue. – hopefully discussed below
2. Flash – maybe a future post if I fail.
3. PS3 controller as mouse via Bluetooth – maybe a future post if I fail.

This may all be in vain as YDL 6.2 may fix all of what I need!?!? (any ideas when it will be released to the public?)

If you have a working fix for items 2 & 3 please do post a link.

I am running a 40” Samsung LCD 1080p (1920 x 1080).

Black border/Over scan issue
I have followed an extremely in-depth guide from YouTube link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?gl=US&v=32EJ9kPUXdY
However when shrinking the screen size nothing happens:

previous, This guide will not work for you, Unless you update your kernel to atleast kernel-2.6.24 or later. Which in that case you might as well just upgrade to YDL 6.1!

You need to be running fullscreen mode in order to use this fix, Fbset is only able to down-scale the resolution it cannot up-scale the resolution. So if you are not already running fullscreen because of the overscan issue, go ahead and switch to fullscreen mode now.

To switch to fullscreen mode open up the terminal and run the command below.

su -
enter your root password
gedit /etc/yaboot.conf

This will open up the yaboot.conf file with the text editor.

To enable fullscreen mode just add 128 to your current mode number under the (default=linux) heading . In the example below you can see the previous mode:# was 3 (3+128=131) So I needed to switch the

append="video=ps3fb:mode:3 rhgb quiet root=LABEL=/1" - Mine is 5

line to