flash player in need of big help!

If you are new to YDL and have some more or less basic questions.

flash player in need of big help!

Postby tommol » 24 Jul 2009, 16:49

i have came across this fourm other day because i couldnt get 6.1 to connect to the internet but with your help it running. but now i have came across a problem. i like to play facebook poker but it asks me to download the latest flash player so i download that and it still dosnt work. could some one please point me in the right direction as i am new to linux thanks Tom
tommol
ydl newbie
ydl newbie

Re: flash player in need of big help!

Postby ppietro » 24 Jul 2009, 21:17

tommol wrote:i have came across this fourm other day because i couldnt get 6.1 to connect to the internet but with your help it running. but now i have came across a problem. i like to play facebook poker but it asks me to download the latest flash player so i download that and it still dosnt work. could some one please point me in the right direction as i am new to linux thanks Tom

Hi Tom,

Unfortunately - you're probably out of luck. (No pun intended!)

Adobe does not have a version of Flash Player for PowerPC Linux.

Adobe does have Flash for Linux - but it's for Intel processors like the x86 or x86_64. Intel code won't work on the PowerPC core of the Cell processor in your PS3.

Adobe also has a version of Flash for PowerPC processors - but it's for MacOS only, which won't run on Linux.

Since Adobe Flash is closed source, we can't re-compile it for PowerPC (ppc) either.

Your only option is to try one of the open source, reverse engineered Flash work-alikes - gnash or swfdec. Gnash 0.8.1 should be available in the standard YDL repositories.

Some of us have built the latest version, Gnash 0.8.5 from scratch. The steps are here:
viewtopic.php?f=19&t=5641&p=30535#p30402

Be warned, though. Gnash is only partially Flash compatible - they're reverse engineering it from Adobe's specs. It might not work with your site either.