Just got Yellow Dog Linux, couple questions

If you are new to YDL and have some more or less basic questions.

Just got Yellow Dog Linux, couple questions

Postby Keith99 » 31 Jul 2009, 00:20

Question #1: How do I create another user, I searched google and these boards, but couldn't find anything. On google I found something where I go in the terminal, type 'su' then entered the root password, and after that typed 'adduser' and then the user name, but it didn't recognize adduser command.

Question #2: Can you tell me if this program (it's on this website: http://www.phunland.com, don't worry, its not a bad site) will run on yellow dog linux.

Question #3: Also, what are some sites that have programs made for yellow dog linux, and is there anything (like something really important, or something I need to download to help it run)I need to know about the OS.

I'm running Yellow Dog 6.1 on a brand new 80 gb PS3 (if that helps). I'm completely new to Linux. Thanks for any help.
Keith99
ydl newbie
ydl newbie

Re: Just got Yellow Dog Linux, couple questions

Postby ppietro » 31 Jul 2009, 01:23

Keith99 wrote:Question #1: How do I create another user, I searched google and these boards, but couldn't find anything. On google I found something where I go in the terminal, type 'su' then entered the root password, and after that typed 'adduser' and then the user name, but it didn't recognize adduser command.

That's the manual way to do it. You probably need to use su -l instead of just su. su, by itself, keeps your standard user paths and environment - adduser is probably hidden for root user only. su -l will log you in with root's path and environment variables.

However - there is a GUI tool that will do it. I'm away from my PS3 right now, but see if there's a "Users and Groups" in the menus.

Keith99 wrote:Question #2: Can you tell me if this program (it's on this website: http://www.phunland.com, don't worry, its not a bad site) will run on yellow dog linux.