frustrated new ps3 6.1 user help me plz

If you are new to YDL and have some more or less basic questions.

frustrated new ps3 6.1 user help me plz

Postby I_AM_EVIL » 27 Aug 2009, 21:04

I installed 6.1 and have had problems from the start. I just got my sound to work for cd's now and trying to advance to movie files (web and DVD) but some how I just dont get it. I have tried to follow how to's but none seem to work for me.

http://news.softpedia.com/news/How-to-E ... 1664.shtml

and

http://news.softpedia.com/news/How-to-I ... 8076.shtml

but for some reason neither work like I thought it would. I see the VLC app, but my DVD does not play. I goto youtube, but the videos dont play. I downloaded and installed UnPlug and downloaded the videos from youtube, but it opens them in Totem and says I dont have the right codecs.

Any advice short of just go back to playing games on PS3 and leave us alone would be nice. I am brand new to the Linux world, but am a novice who fixes other peoples problems in Windows. So I am starting to get a feel of it, but still have a lot of trouble. Thanks for your time and help.
I_AM_EVIL
ydl newbie
ydl newbie

Re: frustrated new ps3 6.1 user help me plz

Postby ppietro » 28 Aug 2009, 00:40

I_AM_EVIL wrote:I installed 6.1 and have had problems from the start. I just got my sound to work for cd's now and trying to advance to movie files (web and DVD) but some how I just dont get it. I have tried to follow how to's but none seem to work for me.

http://news.softpedia.com/news/How-to-E ... 1664.shtml

and

http://news.softpedia.com/news/How-to-I ... 8076.shtml

but for some reason neither work like I thought it would. I see the VLC app, but my DVD does not play. I goto youtube, but the videos dont play. I downloaded and installed UnPlug and downloaded the videos from youtube, but it opens them in Totem and says I dont have the right codecs.