installing vlc media player

If you are new to YDL and have some more or less basic questions.

installing vlc media player

Postby mgschnel » 25 Oct 2009, 02:06

Hello All

I am new to ydl or Linux for that matter, so here it goes..... I download the file(vlc media player) and extracted to my desktop. I have the folder with the program files in it but do not how to install the program so I am able to use it. any advice

Thanks in advance, Mark
mgschnel
ydl newbie
ydl newbie

Re: installing vlc media player

Postby bonedome » 25 Oct 2009, 13:03

Hello
where did you get this vlc file ?
if you've got the source code it has so far not been possible to get a fully functioning build of the latest versions, what you need to do is get billb's bodega repo set up (I'm sure he's said all the fedora extras packages are now in it {correct me if I'm wrong billb}) then open add/remove software and add vlc and the mozilla plugin
should work a treat.
60Gb ps3 otheros awol. currently playing:bad company and farcry 2 again (seeing how far I can get using permadeath principle)update: regretfully Warren Clyde was involved in a shootout south of Pala and killed when he was hit by a land rover. RIP Warren
bonedome
ydl guru
ydl guru

Postby mgschnel » 25 Oct 2009, 16:46

Hello bonedome

I downloaded the file from www.videolan.org, this is the newest version (vlc-1.0.2 tarbz2)
Like I said in my in my post I extracted it to my my desktop and have the folder, I am using YDL6.1 and am new
to installing programs in linux and would like to learn how. Do I need to the source code and compile it? I am not
sure what you are refering to (billb's bodega repo setup). Can you suggest any information on learning to install
programs in linux. Bonedome I appreciate your response to my post.

Thanks, Mark
mgschnel
ydl newbie
ydl newbie

Postby ppietro » 25 Oct 2009, 18:49

mgschnel wrote:this is the newest version (vlc-1.0.2 tarbz2)