wcid crashes on launch - YDL 6.2 on PS3

If you are new to YDL and have some more or less basic questions.

wcid crashes on launch - YDL 6.2 on PS3

Postby DWAH » 16 Feb 2010, 19:36

Hello I am new to Linux and have a recurring problem. When I install a fresh copy of YDL 6.2 the wireless networking works great in wicd (network manager does not work for some reason) but I cannot see the share files of other computers on my network nor can they see me (3 running winxp or vista and 1 running Ubuntu) I successfully configured my Ubuntu laptop to share files without issues between the windows computers. When I try to do the same on YDL by editing the smb.conf file to change my workgroup name, it will still not show up to other computers on the network and as soon as I reboot, I get a error message when launching wcid and cannot connect by wireless at all. I changed my workgroup name back to the defualt in smb.conf and even tried removing and reinstalling wcid but the only way I've been able to get it working again is to do a complete re-install of YDL.

All I want is to have my PS3 able to share files back and forth with all the computers on my network like my laptop does. Am I doing something wrong editing the smb.conf and would that have an effect on wicd? I can post the error message if it helps. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
DWAH
ydl newbie
ydl newbie

Re: wcid crashes on launch - YDL 6.2 on PS3

Postby ppietro » 16 Feb 2010, 19:41

DWAH wrote: as soon as I reboot, I get a error message when launching wcid and cannot connect by wireless at all.

See here:
http://www.ydl.net/support/advisories.shtml

Look for the section "If Wicd Network Manager dies after reboot ..."

NOTE: YDL does not ship with sudo configured by default. Use su -l instead:
i.e.
sudo bash -
becomes
su -

Cheers,
Paul
ppietro
Site Admin
Site Admin

Postby DWAH » 16 Feb 2010, 21:13