Transition from Ubuntu

If you are new to YDL and have some more or less basic questions.

Transition from Ubuntu

Postby supadupadad1 » 16 Oct 2010, 01:05

Hi, i am new to YDL. I First installed it on my ps3 about a year ago and it was my first experience with Linux. I was intrigued by the amount of computer knowledge people had that used Linux and i thought i was goods with a computer. I was totally lost when it came to Linux. I was trying to figure things out when Sony forced people to abandon Linux on ps3. Since then i have vowed to learn Linux. I was turned of by yellow dog because i didn't understand Linux. I stumbled across Ubuntu and have been using it for about a year. I have become very familiar with how Linux works and know my way around Ubuntu very well. I think i would do fine with Debian also since it they are both the same "flavor" of Linux. I am not a pro with the bash shell but i know how to use the terminal and understand how to use it and most of the commands But am learning everyday something new. So now my questions. I know YDL uses the bash shell. but i see terms like yum and , and I don't understand what they mean. I am used to the Debian way of doing things. I am used to typing sudo apt-get install and sudo apt-get update sudo apt-get install. What kind of tips or information can anyone give me to make my transition to this "flavor" of Linux easier? I am not used to the package management system. Perhaps its just going to take some time experimenting as it did with Ubuntu. Thanks for any responses in advance.
Greg

ps. I have still have Ubuntu on the PS3, Does anyone know if YDL will run more efficiently? Does the ps3vram thing work with YDL as well? thanks
supadupadad1
ydl newbie
ydl newbie

Re: Transition from Ubuntu

Postby ppietro » 16 Oct 2010, 06:32