Japanese input in YDL on PS3

General discussion Forum. All YDL related question which are not Install or Beginner questions.

Japanese input in YDL on PS3

Postby benc81 » 08 Jan 2008, 18:20

Hi all, I'm pretty new in the world of Linux, but finally pushed the boat out recently.

I installed YDL onto my PS3, set everything up and managed to get everything how I wanted it, until I tried making Japanese input work, at which point i acheived nothing but making myself frustrated for hours on end. I turn to this forum in hopes that you can help me.

Using YUM, I went to Languages > Japanese and installed/updated the packages that came with it such as scim-anthy etc. Here is my problem though. It DID work, becuase my Japanese fonts in firefox became much nicer and kanji became readable, however nothing seemed to install which would give me the option to switch to japanese keyboard input on the desktop. I read around and I was under the impression that something would install which I could then simply click on and select my desired keyboard input (this case, I would see en-GB and ja). My big problem is, I've never seen Linux before, so I don't even know what I'm looking for, so I'm constantly doubting myself and thinking something must've gone wrong with the installation or I must be missing something.

If anyone uses this or got it to work in the past I'd be grateful of any help you can give me, even just point in the right direction, as searching round the web seems more and more confusing as I go.

Thanks in Advance xxx
benc81
ydl newbie
ydl newbie

Re: Japanese input in YDL on PS3

Postby Topdon87 » 28 Feb 2009, 23:34

Hello and こんにちは。

I am currently very new to linux ydl 6.1 so please be patient with me. I managed to get round this problems by

1. Opening up a terminal

2. Typing "su" followed by my "root password"

3. Typing "gedit"

4. I got to text configuration editor in applications>system tools