PS3 memory (lack of)

General discussion Forum. All YDL related question which are not Install or Beginner questions.

PS3 memory (lack of)

Postby kencanvey » 09 Jan 2008, 19:51

I don't know if this has been suggested for the PS3, but I was wondering if something like ready boost on Vista could be used on yellowdog, plug in a 4gig usb drive and away ya go.
I am not a coder myself, but I thought it could overcome the lack of meaningfull memory?

Ken

Edit : sorry just noticed the PS3 dedicated forum :oops:
kencanvey
ydl newbie
ydl newbie

Postby Zion » 15 Feb 2008, 02:50

Would help a bit but not a huge deal.

Best thing to happen to PS3 Linux would be if Sony gave us access to the full 512mb of system ram instead of the miserable 208/228mb they allow us to use.

I firmly believe that one day Linux on the PS3 will be more than just a novelty and be more comparable to a desktop PC.
Fancy a bit of banter? Check out my random site www.ZionsWorld.com
Zion
ydl newbie
ydl newbie

Postby ppietro » 16 Feb 2008, 23:54

Zion wrote:Would help a bit but not a huge deal.

Best thing to happen to PS3 Linux would be if Sony gave us access to the full 512mb of system ram instead of the miserable 208/228mb they allow us to use.

I firmly believe that one day Linux on the PS3 will be more than just a novelty and be more comparable to a desktop PC.

Unfortunately, that would be difficult. :(

The PS3 is split into two separate memory systems. The PS3 has 256 Meg of RAMBUS XDR DRAM for the Cell as system memory - the RSX has 256 megs of GDDR3 DRAM as video memory.

There is a way to get the bridge chips to transfer traffic between the two memory "pools", but it might even be asymetrical - I think the RSX can access system memory at a higher speed than the Cell can access video memory. (Can't remember for sure, though.)

(Part of the spec. is here and here)