Question about software installation

General discussion Forum. All YDL related question which are not Install or Beginner questions.

Question about software installation

Postby prankster » 27 Feb 2008, 04:11

Hi guys,

I'm a newbie in Linux world. In fact I just started to use linux today. So my bad if these questions are kind of dumb.

1. I wanna install VLC player. Which one should I download? x86? I'm running ydl 6 on PS3. I'm typing this using linux anyway.

2. How do I install flash player? quick time?

If anyone can help me, I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks.
prankster
ydl newbie
ydl newbie

Postby NeoAmsterdam » 27 Feb 2008, 04:47

Welcome to Linux.

I've never needed VLC under Linux, bur anything marked "x86" won't run on PS3s - you need the PowerPC packages. I don't know if VLC has been packaged for ppc. For Flash you want the free knock-off called "gnash", and as for QuickTime, well... that's one of Apple's [remaining] crown jewels, so there's no substitute that I can think of (unless VLC has made an advancement that I don't know about).

You'll find a list of pre-compiled ("download-n-go") programs available for download by using the "Add/Remove Packages" program in the "Applications" submenu of the main menu button in the dock. If VLC isn't listed there, then the process will be a little more intricate (read: your first lesson in home-brewed software). I think that the "VLC Compile" how-to is floating around here somewhere.

Enjoy!
NeoAmsterdam
ydl lover
ydl lover

Postby prankster » 27 Feb 2008, 05:30

Thanks for the reply. I heard a good thing about mplayer. I downloaded its version for PPC. I got essential-ppc-20071007.tar.bz2. How do I use that file?
prankster
ydl newbie
ydl newbie

Postby ppietro » 27 Feb 2008, 22:52

prankster wrote:Thanks for the reply. I heard a good thing about mplayer. I downloaded its version for PPC. I got essential-ppc-20071007.tar.bz2. How do I use that file?