init levels

General discussion Forum. All YDL related question which are not Install or Beginner questions.

init levels

Postby linfidel » 28 Apr 2011, 02:17

Hi,
I'm new to YDL, and I normally use Ubuntu, so I'm not used to the init levels that Ubuntu abandoned, although I've known the theory of how it works for a while.

Anyway, I've installed YDL on an imac G5 I inherited, and I'm setting it up as a server, normally using ssh from my Ubuntu system to get in.

I customized the runlevel 4, since I didn't think it was being used anyway; it was pretty similar to 3, so I made it essentially the same to start with. One thing that seemed odd, though, was that mySQL was installed in init 5, and not anything earlier. Is there a reason for this? I added it to 4, and it seems to work OK.

If anyone is interested, I also added the fan control script I found elsewhere on this board, and that works well. I disabled the console outputs, and simply call it from a simple startup script with an ampersand at the end. So, now I can hear when my wife is coming with the vacuum cleaner. :)

So far, the system is working well. I had to switch to gnome from enlightenment right away, as enlightenment kept crashing during simple customizations, like moving icons. Besides, I'm used to gnome. Not that it matters, as I don't run X normally on it anyway. It seems like a good way to gain a little more confidence when I have to deal with a RHEL system, like for web server work I occasionally do for some clients.
linfidel
ydl newbie
ydl newbie

Re: init levels

Postby aguilarojo » 28 Apr 2011, 20:35

linfidel wrote:Hi,
I'm new to YDL, and I normally use Ubuntu, so I'm not used to the init levels that Ubuntu abandoned, although I've known the theory of how it works for a while.

Anyway, I've installed YDL on an imac G5 I inherited, and I'm setting it up as a server, normally using ssh from my Ubuntu system to get in.